Welcome to ARES Colorado Section

The Colorado Section of the Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES) is part of the Field Organization of the American Radio Relay League (ARRL), the national association of amateur radio.

The ARRL divides the nation into 71 administrative sections. The State of Colorado comprises one of these sections.

Each section is led by an elected Section Manager. The Colorado Section Manager, Robert Wareham, makes section level appointments, including the Section Emergency Coordinator (SEC) who is responsible for leading Colorado Section ARES. Jon Blome was appointed SEC in June of 2020.

The Colorado Section is subdivided and organized into 10 Regions.  Each region of Colorado ARES has a Region Emergency Coordinator (REC) appointed who coordinates activities within that Colorado ARES Region.

Each Region of the Colorado Section is further organized into 1 to 6 Districts, typically using county boundaries. District Emergency Coordinators (ECs) are appointed by the Colorado Section Emergency Coordinator upon recommendation and nomination by the respective Region EC.